Why I Love America

In today’s times, showing patriotism could spark contempt and abrasive arguments. But, while negativity has become associated with our country, I think it is important to remember the good. For the record, I’m not bragging about this country while overlooking the problems: that is arrogance. However, ignoring the unique benefits is just plain ignorance. I, on the other hand, recognize the problems, but my love for this country is what makes me what to stand beside it and put in the effort to make this nation a better place. So, here it goes, here are 4 reasons why I love the U.S. of A.

  • The Underdog

I think the glorification of the Underdog originated back with the Pilgrims or the Revolutionary War. We love a good story about someone, who against all odds, succeeds. It gives us a sense of hope that somehow we could achieve our dreams, despite what people may say. I mean look at the movie Captain America. He was a scrawny boy from Brooklyn who became the strongest and most patriotic hero because of his innate benevolence. What better example is that?

captain-america-before-after

  • Freedom 

It’s the first amendment that inspires this next point. Here, we have the freedom to practice any religion, question our government, and even the freedom to write a post like this without having censored in order to fit a political agenda. Now, before people start saying “well now a days, there are a ton of countries with that same amount of freedom – maybe even more.” Then, let me put it into perspective. I like Whataburger. I think their burgers are one of the best. Are there other fast food joints that make hamburgers? Duh. Do I still go to Whataburger for my greasy cravings? Of course! Just because there are other fast food places around doesn’t make Whataburger any less amazing. I have the freedom (pun intended) to pick where to go for a burger, and hey, if you don’t like it as much as me, then just go to McDonald’s or Fuddruckers because you also have the freedom to pick.

  • Sense of Service

Service seems to be an indelible trait in the country. When the country or others are in need, we are some of the first to jump to service. During World War II, young men volunteered to uphold democracy, while the families back home made little sacrifices for the betterment of people they may not even know. In a current event, the ALS ice bucket challenge swept over the nation. It’s crazy, millions of people dousing themselves in freezing cold water in order to be one step closer to curing Lou Gehrig’s Disease. It’s a sense of community: if one American is hurt, millions of American run to their protection.

AA 67b - 2  Retire Ft Meade 3 - Copy

  • The People

By the people. For the people. The American people are amazing, not because they are some special breed or better than other country’s, but because it is a collection of people with a genuine heart. Every person has a dream and has this determination to fulfill those dreams. They have come from all walks of life and ancestries. Despite the differences in up bringing, there is a confidence that they are capable of achieving what their hearts desire. Maybe it’s the Disney movies we all grew up with or just the monstrous size of our portions. But, I think a boost in self-esteem for a world so warped by insecurity – that’s just my opinion.

So, there it is. If you have any thoughts or differing opinions, I’m more than welcome to hear what you have to say, as long as it’s not a one way screaming session. I think Joseph Joubert said it perfectly, “the aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress.”

See ya later

-Alliegator

One thought on “Why I Love America

  1. I would add Hope and Opportunity – I heard an interview with a recently naturalized citizen who said the reason he immigrated was the Hope of a new life for his family and the Opportunity to turn that hope into reality, which he did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

